Towards an efficient and sustainable transport system: the role of transport policy analysis

Prof. Jonas Eliasson - Bivec-Gibet Transport Chair 2014

November 24, 2014 (Leuven)

February 3, 2015 (Brussels)

May 28, 2015 (Eindhoven)

The BIVEC-GIBET Transport Chair awards an individual who has made an important scientific contribution and/or significant social merits related to transport and mobility within Europe. The chair is awarded every two years. The first recipient (in 2012) was professor David Banister (University of Oxford). The 2014 laureate is professor Jonas Eliasson (Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), School of Architecture and the Built Environment, Centre for Transport Studies, Stockholm).

Professor Eliasson is the Director of the Centre for Transport Studies. His research interests include transport modeling, appraisal and cost-benefit analysis, valuation of non-market goods (e.g. travel time and intrusion effects), transport policy, transport planning and road pricing. He has been heavily involved in the design, planning and evaluation of the Stockholm congestion charges, and is frequently engaged as an advisor to other cities considering congestion pricing systems. He has been responsible for the modeling and appraisal of several major Swedish infrastructure investments, and is currently chairing the committee for transport modeling and cost-benefit analysis of the National Transport Investment Plan.

On accepting the chair, the laureate will give three public lectures. These lectures are free of charge for all BIVEC-GIBET members and for students. All other participants are welcomed as well, and pay 25 EUR on the day of the lecture. Registration for all is necessary. Please send an email to to confirm your presence.

The overall theme of professor Eliasson's BIVEC-GIBET Transport Chair lectures is "Towards an efficient and sustainable transport system: the role of transport policy analysis". For more information, download the conference leaflet and the three presentations below.